Bad Canadian

Have you met that person who complains at the first signs of snow? That whines all the way through winter? Who dresses like they are going mountain climbing as soon as it dips below zero?

Yes, that’s me. My facebook page is filled today with comments about how beautiful the snow is, friends who are looking forward to the ski season and ‘suck it up buttercup’ messages to anyone (myself included) who is not ‘fully enjoying’ the great Canadian frozen outdoors.

I am – let me be clear here – perfectly willing to call it a natural disaster and call in the army for 2 cm of snow. (Well, who doesn’t like a man in uniform?)

In case you were thinking of asking me if I wanted to go out on a date with you a few of my winter rituals to keep in mind:

1. I do not leave the downtown core of Toronto from first to last snow unless it involves a car picking me up at my door and a plane out of the country to a warmer destination.

2. Don’t ask me to drive anywhere. You will save lives. I am the idiot going 10km clinging to the steering wheel… or, more accurately that happened once and now I don’t drive in the winter.

3. If you are wondering about my winter turn on’s (yes, I have seasonal turn on’s) they include:
-hot chocolate
-steaming hot baths
-warm towels
-big giant blankets
-avoiding all connection with ice and snow.

~ by girlontheside on December 9, 2009.

One Response to “Bad Canadian”

  1. Nothing wrong with those turn ons at all.

    Keep warm; and watch out for the snow falling off of the roof. *smiles*

    ~niya

Leave a comment